Summary

The intention of this infographic was to communicate in a quick way how to groom and style ones moustache. I purposefully chose to simplify it right down to a small series of images and few words in order for the image to be digested quickly.I also was aiming to have a very classy sophisticated look to the image and not over crowd it with colours or various elements. I feel I have been able to achieve this through this final simplified infographic.

I constructed this final image using various skills learnt in class as well as further self education through the power of youtube! One of the things we learnt in class that helped me immensely was the pen tool and using that to trace images you wish to replicate in a vector. That specific class proved to save me a lot of hassle and time when constructing my image as I was able to find photographs online, with creative commons licences and replicate them through the pen tool to the exact specifications I was wanting.

Another class that helped a lot was earlier on in the semester but was much more applicable to this assignment than the last and that was the class in which we covered colours. This class helped with this assignment in that I had a lot more control over the colour selection therefore I had to be very careful and use the principles and rules we’ve learnt appropriately when creating the image.

One of the challenges I found though was just before I uploaded my final images I realised I had constructed everything on a page much larger than the specified ratio required in the assessment brief. With that in mind I quickly shrunk everything to fit on the appropriate sized page ,and still keeping the same positions, but as I was exporting the image I noticed that certain elements weren’t looking quite right. Specifically the comb in step 1 appeared to have lost it’s individual teeth I had drawn out and ended up merging all the comb’s teeth together into one large element. Due to time constraints I decided against trying to restore the element to as it had previously been.

Overall I am really proud of my final images and surprised with myself as I never thought to be a very creative person however I’m finding through these assignments that my area of creativity is through digital media rather than classic artistic mediums.

Leave a Reply

