Article

I have chosen Cultural Appropriation as my central theme for this assignment. I decided on this theme due to the fact that I myself am bicultural and often see cultural appropriation of my 2 cultures in different contexts as well as other cultures. I have chosen the 3 academic articles and 2 media articles for my source material. However I will mainly be focusing on my the first academic article listed below.

Academic Article 1:

The Properties of Culture and the Politics of Possessing Identity: Native Claims in the Cultural Appropriation Controversy

By Rosemary Coombe

 

Social Science Research Network 

Academic Article 2:

CROSS CULTURAL CONSUMPTIOn Global Markets, Local Realities

Edited By David Howes

Google Scholar

Academic Article 3:

Borrowed Power: Essays on Cultural Appropriation

edited by Bruce H. Ziff, Pratima V. Rao

Google Scholar 2

Media Article 1:

my culture is not a trend. A DIALOGUE ABOUT CULTURAL APPROPRIATION

By Mycultureisnotatrend

Tumblr

Media Article 2:

What Is Cultural Appropriation and Why Is It Wrong?

BY  Nadra Kareem Nittle

About News

One thought on “Article

  1. justincornelius says:

    Hey Camille. I think you were really informative with this post. The inclusion of different types of articles shows that you have put a lot of thought into this assignment and kept your options open if one doesn’t work out the way you wanted it too. One thing that I would improve on is to just give a small description of the article as it would make it easier for the audience to understand. Otherwise it was a really good read. Thank you 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

